Skip to main content

Home/ Redshift Strategy/ Group items tagged social

Rss Feed Group items tagged

Alex Street

Social Commerce Breakdown: How Levi's and Facebook Prompt Your Friends To Imp... - 0 views

  • Social Gestures (Above Screenshot
  • Social Commerce (Above Screenshot
  • Facebook data, Levi’s creates a personalized shopping cart based on what your friends have s
  • ...5 more annotations...
  • Your friends are shopping with you –even if they aren’t present
  • A more engaged user, without forcing them through registration.
  • Consumers take part in marketing and recommendations, increasing upsell opportunity
  • customers trust each other or ‘people like them’
  • Social commerce vendors will integrate with Social CRM
Alex Street

Sony To Launch Social Games In Home - 0 views

  • Sony To Launch Social Games In Home
  • social initiative is part of Sony's plan to leverage Home as a social platform for PS3 owners. 
  • These will not be the first social or freemium games launched in Home
  • ...1 more annotation...
  • 100 games embedded into the world including Sodium, a game that supports microtransactions
Alex Street

BBC - BBC Internet Blog: Introducing the all new BBC iPlayer (This time it's personal) - 0 views

  • simpler to use, personalised and social.
  • iPlayer V2,
  • main problems we had to solve were largely technical things like:
  • ...64 more annotations...
  • Twitterverse is becoming the tastemaker.
  • available i
  • ideo quality
  • reliability of video delivery
  • dealing with massive peak loads
  • iPlayer V2 hosting platform was also designed to scale across multiple platforms
  • Actual Availability,
  • scaling to 1.5 million users,
  • 15 million page views delivering over 1.1 billion(!) minutes of video each month
  • Two years ago when we launched iPlayer our goals and challenges were largely technical - scalability, reliability, video encoding
  • next set of challenges was not so much technical as social
  • "As people begin moving from television to the web, what happens to the role of the linear TV scheduler as the tastemaker
  • platform capable
  • the scheduler is the leading tastemaker.
  • iPlayer does a fine job of satisfying the time-shifted desires
  • BBC schedulers create the desire to watch a programme; iPlayer lets you see it at a time that's convenient to you
  • what if you no longer watched linear TV? Who becomes the tastemaker then?
  • largely theoretical problem
  • iPlayer home page that feels almost more like an application than a traditional web site
  • in the world of YouTube where there is no master scheduler who can shape demand.
  • clear evidence that linear TV created the demand while iPlayer satisfied it.
  • wanted it to become a driver of demand, s
  • The question then is, in a world which cannot be driven by schedulers
  • if schedulers are going to be augmented by your friends as drivers of consumption in the future, the challenge for the team was to integrate friends and social into the iPlayer
  • delights both early adopters and the mainstream audience.
  • folded your personal experience into the fabric of the main site
  • o integrate with Facebook and other social networks
  • make the recommendations and social graph visible within iPlayer,
  • addition of course to any external activity.
  • solution we came up with was to create a BBC login - known as BBC iD
  • can then connect with Facebook, Twitter
  • expandable Favourites zone
  • designed Favourites to be like your mail Inbox, showing the total number of items, how many are newly arrived,
  • rely on Favourites to give me a constant stream of things to watch
  • ll your favourites and other settings can roam across all the devices on which you use iPlayer.
  • So now if I'm bored sitting in a train on the way home, I can look for new programmes to watch, add them to my Favourites,
  • Personalised iPlayer home page
  • default view that everyone sees to something that's, well, just for you.
  • iPlayer traffic is doubling each year, it still only accounts for 2-3% of linear TV viewing.
  • Featured and Most Popular
  • For You and Friends:
  • iPlayer homepage into the tastemaker of your choice
  • connect iPlayer to your Facebook and/or Twitter social graph
  • Player home page to meet the needs of a mainstream audience looking for editorialised
  • My Categories
  • he iPlayer server will keep a lookout for any new content in your selected categories
  • big increase in live TV viewing in iPlayer - and with the upcoming World Cup being a huge driver of live online viewing
  • new Live Viewing page
  • fuel for the Friends drawer on the iPlayer home page
  • something that for some will be the killer feature of the new site
  • sync your iPlayer with theirs
  • Shout button - a
  • shouts only go to your Messenger friends who are in iPlayer right now
  • Watch with Friends is being added to the site in the next few weeks - stay tuned!
  • adaptive bitrate system
  • ch automatically adjusts
  • Adobe's upcoming Flash 10.1 release with H.264 hardware acceleratio
  • New iPlayer Desktop
  • Series Downloads and live radio & TV.
  • favourite programmes already downloaded to your computer ready to view when you're offline
  • Player Desktop will now automatically download every future episode for you
  • new feature in iPlayer Desktop for live TV
  • BBC's 17 network and national radio stations..
  • I am moving on to become CTO of Project Canvas, and this is the last major piece of work
Alex Street

Inside Facebook · Who's Playing Social Games Outside the US? App Demographics... - 0 views

  •  
    n the UK, women make up, on average, 57.9% of social gamers, and men make up 41.0%. For reference, women make up 60.8% of the US social game audience and men make up 38.2%.
Alex Street

Zynga $5 Billion Valuation: BUY - Early Leader in Social Gaming is Printing Money - Sec... - 0 views

  • Social gaming applications currently have over one billion “monthly active users
  • Social gaming is rapidly taking share from other online gaming segments a
David Astle

HOW TO: Advertise Inside Social Games on Facebook - 0 views

  • Facebook is now the largest display advertising site on the Internet
  • online games have surpassed personal e-mail to become the second most popular activity on the web, accounting for 10% of time spent online.
  • Games also represent a huge audience for advertisers, as more than 56 million Americans play social games on a regular basis.
  • ...7 more annotations...
  • Game publishers have begun to tie virtual goods or currency to “real world” purchases from advertising partners (spend $50 at the Gap, get 20 Facebook Credits, for example).
  • Advertisers can also use in-game ads to get in front of consumers before there is purchase intent.
  • Retail goods:
  • Subscription services:
  • Local advertisers:
  • Survey research:
  • Branded video views:
David Astle

Social Games: What is the core team needed to develop a social game? - Quora - 0 views

  • You're aiming for 0.5M MAU, lets assume a good ARPU of $0.40 given monthly revenues of $200,000.
  • f your game has a good viral ratio of 0.5, that is, each person invites 0.5 other people, then we can model the equation as 1 / (1 - 0.5) = 2. So for every person we buy, we get 2 kicked out (2 for the price of 1). So, to hit 0.5M MAUs we need to buy approx. 0.5M / 2 = 250,000 users. 
  • Our cost to acquire a customer (CAC) is probably going to be around $0.50, so the cost to acquire those 250,000 users is $125,000. 
  • ...1 more annotation...
  • Taking into account the cost of hosting, and the cost of processing the payments then we can safely round up the monthly "cost of sales" to $140,000 on monthly revenue of $200,000.
David Astle

Social Gaming Will Generate $1 Billion This Year [STATS] - 0 views

  •  
    Social Gaming Will Generate $1 Billion This Year [STATS]
David Astle

Games Startups! What You Need To Know To Succeed In The Competitive Social Games Market... - 0 views

  •  
    mes Startups! What You Need To Know To Succeed In The Competitive Social Games Market
David Astle

Jersey Shore Breaks Record For The Most Social TV Show Of All Time - SocialTimes.com - 0 views

  •  
    Jersey Shore Breaks Record For The Most Social TV Show Of All Time
David Astle

Conversocial Makes Simple Work of Social Media Moderation for Broadcasters - 0 views

  •  
    Conversocial Makes Simple Work of Social Media Moderation for Broadcasters
David Astle

New Media Knowledge - TV Gets Social: How Broadcasters are Building Loyal Fanbases Online - 0 views

  •  
    TV Gets Social: How Broadcasters are Building Loyal Fanbases Online
David Astle

20+ Mind-blowing social media statistics: One year later | Econsultancy - 0 views

  •  
    20+ Mind-blowing social media statistics: One year later
Alex Street

Bridging Social Responsibility and Social Media, A Snapshot of the Levi's Campaign | Fa... - 0 views

  • Jen Bekman, gallery owner and entrepreneur, providing insight and a personal account of starting one’s own business.
Alex Street

Move Over Twitter: Facebook Wants a Piece of Social TV, Too - 0 views

  • Facebook users tend to have highly detailed profiles
  • also connect their personal profile to their favourite brands and celebritie
  • Facebook Connect allows users to sign into millions of sites
  • ...16 more annotations...
  • wealth of data provide
  • page is used as a hub
  • t MIPTV, Facebook outlined four key ways that the platform can be used to encourage social TV behaviour:
  • Building TV Communities
  • og onto the CBS website using Facebook Connect. Instantly, CBS has access to all that user’s favourite actors,
  • One picture had 10,000 likes- the average user has 130 friends on average
  • Facebook is Topgear.com’s second largest traffic driver
  • 2.     Social Check in
  • TV check in lets TV
  • check into each episode of a series
  • see that actually ten of their friends are also watching Top Gear at the same
  • ocial EPG
  • Million Pound Drop:
  • wildly successful Facebook game
  • 8-10% of the TV audience played the game
  • voting is monetised through a sponsorship.
Alex Street

Social TV - making the TV experience more social - 0 views

  • n 50% of people under 30 regularly watch TV while interacting with a web-connected device an
Alex Street

Rockstar Games Social Club About - 0 views

  • Social Club is a member’s only website destination
  • Simply register a membership account to link your game data,
  • As soon as you’ve purchased and played
  • ...2 more annotations...
  • gged in to www.rockstargames.com/socialclub
  • Social Club account linked with your PLAYSTATION®Network Sign-In ID, Xbox LIVE™
  •  
    launched with the console releases of Grand Theft Auto IV
1 - 20 of 85 Next › Last »
Showing 20 items per page