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David Astle

HOW TO: Advertise Inside Social Games on Facebook - 0 views

  • Facebook is now the largest display advertising site on the Internet
  • online games have surpassed personal e-mail to become the second most popular activity on the web, accounting for 10% of time spent online.
  • Games also represent a huge audience for advertisers, as more than 56 million Americans play social games on a regular basis.
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  • Game publishers have begun to tie virtual goods or currency to “real world” purchases from advertising partners (spend $50 at the Gap, get 20 Facebook Credits, for example).
  • Advertisers can also use in-game ads to get in front of consumers before there is purchase intent.
  • Retail goods:
  • Subscription services:
  • Local advertisers:
  • Survey research:
  • Branded video views:
David Astle

Social Games: What is the core team needed to develop a social game? - Quora - 0 views

  • You're aiming for 0.5M MAU, lets assume a good ARPU of $0.40 given monthly revenues of $200,000.
  • f your game has a good viral ratio of 0.5, that is, each person invites 0.5 other people, then we can model the equation as 1 / (1 - 0.5) = 2. So for every person we buy, we get 2 kicked out (2 for the price of 1). So, to hit 0.5M MAUs we need to buy approx. 0.5M / 2 = 250,000 users. 
  • Our cost to acquire a customer (CAC) is probably going to be around $0.50, so the cost to acquire those 250,000 users is $125,000. 
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  • Taking into account the cost of hosting, and the cost of processing the payments then we can safely round up the monthly "cost of sales" to $140,000 on monthly revenue of $200,000.
Alex Street

FT.com / Companies / Retail - Walmart rises in digital battle - 0 views

  • Walmart has used its retail power and influence to get Vudu installed on a range of new devices that it would normally not have had access to, such as Sony’s PlayStati
  • es: the new Apple TV has no hard disc
  • in the US, digital rental transactions rose more than 50 per cent in 2010 to 38m, compared with 25m transactions in 2009.
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  • Consumers clearly now prefer access to ownership
Nick Verkroost

Zynga Revenue Estimated At $50M Per Month | EngageDigital - 0 views

  • May 14, 2010
  • Zynga's current monthly revenue has been estimated at $50 million per month
  • Zynga's margins at 30%
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  • Zynga single-handedly makes up about 44% of the market for social gaming
  • next nearest competitors in Carpenter's analysis, EA and RockYou
  • April 2010 MAU of 269 million monthly actives
  • Zynga to make millions off of the %1 to 2% of its users that are willing to buy items
Alex Street

Cisco Visual Networking Index: Forecast and Methodology, 2010-2015  [Visual N... - 0 views

  • number of devices connected to IP networks will be twice as high as the global population in 2015.
  • In 2010, only 3 percent of Internet traffic originated with non-PC devices, but by 2015 the non-PC share of Internet traffic will grow to 15 percent.
  • TVs, tablets, smartphones, and machine-to-machine (M2M) modules will have growth rates of 101 percent, 216 percent, 144 percent, and 258 percent, respectively
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  • by 2012 Internet video will account for over 50 percent of consumer Internet traffic
  • Every second, 1 million minutes of video content will cross the network in 2015
  • Internet video to TV
  • Step 1: Number of Users
  • users for each video subsegment
  • 37 percent of Internet video users watch long-form content
  • average viewing time is longer than 5 minutes in duratio
  • Adoption
  • Minutes of Use
  • For each application subsegment, minutes of use (MOU) are estimated
  • he next step is to apply kilobytes (KB) per minute
  • tep 4. Bitrates
  • 7 percent annual compression gain is applied to the bitrate.
  • final step is to compare the results of the forecast with actual broadband traffic data from service providers.
  • P Traffic, 2010-2015
  • Fixed Internet
  • 14,955
  • 59,354
  • Fixed
  • 12,355 1
  • Internet video
  • 4,672
  • 33,620
  • 53,282
  • Consumer Internet Video Communications, 2010-2015
  • Mobile 4 9 17 31 52 97 90%
  • Internet Video With the exception of the Internet video to TV subcatego
Alex Street

Huawei, ZTE and Ericsson to Dominate Telecom Infrastructure Equipment Market - or not? ... - 0 views

  • Cisco has pretty much exited the telecom transmission business
  • Motorola Networks is being sold to NSN, but that’s being contested by Huawei
  • big three of Alcatel-Lucent, Nokia-Siemens and Ericsso
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  • Telecom Infrastructure Equipment Marke
  • Huawei
  • Serving 45 of the top 50 global telecom operators,
  • f you look at Alcatel Lucent or Nokia Siemens Networks, their growth rate is flat or shrinking, and even market leader Ericsson has a slow growth
  • world's leading telecom infrastructure vendor,
  • ricsson is in a better position than its European- American and Japanese rivals to resist the Chinese led onslaught, as its economies of scale give it higher sales and better profit margins.
  • hey must compete on technology, product quality and innovation.
  • ly three players- Ericsson, Huawei and ZTE- will be the only dominant telecom
  • iggest blow to Huawei (IMHO) is that they didn't win the Sprint infrastructure upgrade contract.
  • U.S. concerns about Huawei go back several years, and focus on the opacity of its books (finances are not transparent) and ownership structure (Chinese government?) 
Alex Street

DVD Intelligence - FEATURE: Physical media are hanging on for dear life - 0 views

  • Amazon.com’s deep discounting
  • deluxe art book containing more than 50 pages of art,
  • Amoeba arose out of that community of music lovers that wanted a better place for music than a corporate chain store
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  • one with the widest possible selection, better service, and more respect for people’s ideas and lives.”
  • Amoeba Musi
  • huge chain stores were mercilessly swallowing up independent store
  • depriving communities across the country of a personal relationship with their musi
  • HMV chief executive Simon Fox reported that CDs currently account for about a quarter of HMV’s business
  • If HMV merely maintains its share of the shrinking CD pie over the next three years, the company projects its annual revenues from CDs to fall to £120 million
  • the entire CD market in the UK would be worth just £300 million in three years’ time
  • £145m of turnover that has to be replaced by “digital entertainment devices”.
  • 1 million subscribers in Europe already pay the monthly premium subscription fee, while more than 10 million users go the free route.
  • Billboard reported that Spotify in just three weeks amassed at least 1 million total US users, and 70,000 paid subscribers in the first week
  • Spotify’s partnership with Facebook
  • ny labels or musicians who want to make money from CDs better wow buyers with unforgettable packaging
  • consumers have demonstrated that they’re willing to sacrifice sound quality for convenience and portability.
  • enough audiophiles – and videophiles for that matter – to sustain an entertainment ecosystem to cater to their needs?
  • Not having actual possession of a digital file is the premise of ‘cloud’-based computing, a
  • The Death of Bunny Munro, w
  • transmedia storytelling’ is a technique of telling stories
  • mass media to develop media franchises
  • type of thing that CD-ROM started doing in the 1990s
David Astle

The State of Video in E-Commerce: Top 50 Retailers & Web Video Usage - 0 views

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    The State of Video for E-Commerce Retailers: Q4 2010 Report
Nick Verkroost

UK mobile content revenues worth over £1bn in five years (Digital Knowledge C... - 0 views

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    336.73
Alex Street

Social TV - making the TV experience more social - 0 views

  • n 50% of people under 30 regularly watch TV while interacting with a web-connected device an
Alex Street

TV market in Germany - 0 views

  • 37 million households
  • 50.1% received television by cable and 43.7% by satellite.
  • digital television had reached almost 62% by June
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  • Cable represents the most common mode of television distribution, and the digitisation of the network reached almost 34% at the end of 2009
  • four major operators
  • 1% of households depended on DTT as their only means of television receptio
  • IPTV services were being accessed in 2% of households at the end of 2009
Nick Verkroost

The pay TV penetration continues to grow in Latin America | Audiovisual Panorama - 0 views

  • The pay TV penetration continues to grow in Latin America
  • Colombia (77% penetration), Peru (53%) and Venezuela (50%)
  • pay-TV penetration in households was 74% in Peru; 64% in Chile; 60% in Brazil, 54% in Colombia, 39% in Venezuela, 37% in Mexico, and 15% in Argentinaand; 54% in Colombia; 39% in Venezuela; 37% in Mexico, y 15% in Argentina.
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  • Mexico, 36%, and Brazil, 22%
Alex Street

List of Net channels - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia - 0 views

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