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Jennifer Williams

Tag Categories - 24 views

Hey Dale, I added that for you. If anyone else really thinks a new "tag" (category) is needed, post here to the forum. Don't forget to use these tags and make sure that they are spelled the same...

tags

Rob Laporte

Chitika Insights | The Value of Google Result Positioning - 0 views

  • How much is the top spot on Google actually worth?  According to data from the Chitika network, it’s worth a ton – double the traffic of the #2 spot, to be precise. In order to find out the value of SEO, we looked at a sample of traffic coming into our advertising network from Google and broke it down by Google results placement.  The top spot drove 34.35% of all traffic in the sample, almost as much as the numbers 2 through 5 slots combined, and more than the numbers 5 through 20 (the end of page 2) put together. “Obviously, everyone knows that the #1 spot on Google is where you want to be,” says Chitika research director Daniel Ruby.  “It’s just kind of shocking to look at the numbers and see just how important it is, and how much of a jump there is from 2 to 1.” The biggest jump, percentage-wise, is from the top of page 2 to the bottom of page 1.  Going from the 11th spot to 10th sees a 143% jump in traffic.  However, the base number is very low – that 143% jump is from 1.11% of all Google traffic to 2.71%.  As you go up the top page, the raw jumps get bigger and bigger, culminating in that desired top position. Google Result Impressions Percentage 1 2,834,806 34.35% 2 1,399,502 16.96% 3 942,706 11.42% 4 638,106 7.73% 5 510,721 6.19% 6 416,887 5.05% 7 331,500 4.02% 8 286,118 3.47% 9 235,197 2.85% 10 223,320 2.71% 11 91,978 1.11% 12 69,778 0.85% 13 57,952 0.70% 14 46,822 0.57% 15 39,635 0.48% 16 32,168 0.39% 17 26,933 0.33% 18 23,131 0.28% 19 22,027 0.27% 20 23,953 0.29% Numbers are based on a sample of 8,253,240 impressions across the Chitika advertising network in May, 2010.
Rob Laporte

Bing - How Microsoft handles bots clicking on ads - Webmaster Blog - Bing Community - 0 views

  • AdCenter uses a variety of techniques to remove bots, including the Interactive Advertising Bureau’s (IAB) Spiders and Robots protocol.  The IAB provides a list of known bots, and Microsoft bots are a part of that list. As a result, any activity generated by bots will not skew AdCenter data because it will be categorized as low quality in AdCenter Reports. You can view the Standard Quality and Low Quality data by accessing the AdCenter Reports tab. In June, 2009, Microsoft received Click Quality Accreditation from the IAB, which holds the industry’s highest standards in click measurement. The IAB and independent third-part auditors verified that adCenter meets their requirements for Click Quality Accreditation, which includes not billing for our search bot’s ad clicks. For more information, visit the adCenter Blog, or the IAB site.
Rob Laporte

Live Search Webmaster Center Blog : The key to picking the right keywords (SEM 101) - 0 views

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    Tool time Lastly, augment all of that good data with professional keyword research tools. Microsoft offers a tool called adCenter Excel Add-in Keyword Research Tool for versions 2003 and 2007. (Note: You'll need to set up an adCenter account before you can use the tool. Luckily, unlike most other online ad vendors, adCenter offers customer support over the phone with a real person - at no cost to you! - to help you get your account set up and running.) Both Google and Yahoo! offer their own keyword research tools. In addition, there are many third-party keyword research tools available, some for free, others for a fee. The adCenter Excel Add-in Keyword Research Tool can do the following: * Scan your current website and extract the keywords that offer the highest confidence levels based on their current usage * Suggest new keywords based on user behavior or your existing keyword list * Provide: o Research data on top performing keywords o Performance data on the keywords you specify o Information on keyword usage based on geographic and demographic data Note that the keyword tool is primarily designed to help users figure out which keywords to use with their Pay-Per-Click (PPC) advertising campaigns. However, the tool's output is also extremely relevant to developing or revising a keyword list for your website as part of an SEO update. We'll talk about the process of creating a PPC campaign in later posts. To use the tool, I recommend adding your keywords (one word per line) to an empty Excel spreadsheet, listing them in column A. Select the words for which you want to see adCenter's confidence level rating, click the Ad Intelligence tab, and then click the lower half of the Keyword Suggestion button on the toolbar, using both the Contained and Similarity tasks. You'll get a list of additional suggested keywords and phrases that correspond to each of the keywords you selected. Use the ones that are relevant
Rob Laporte

Paid Search Beats SEO Conversion Rates? - Website Magazine - Website Magazine - 0 views

  • TEXT SIZE Advertisement <SCRIPT language='JavaScript1.1' SRC="http://ad.doubleclick.net/adj/N5621.websitemagazine.com/B3286961.2;abr=!ie;sz=300x250;ord=[unique-string]?"> </SCRIPT> <NOSCRIPT> <a target='_blank' HREF="http://ads.websiteservices.com/adclick.php?bannerid=244&zoneid=14&source=&dest=http%3A%2F%2Fad.doubleclick.net%2Fjump%2FN5621.websitemagazine.com%2FB3286961.2%3Babr%3D%21ie4%3Babr%3D%21ie5%3Bsz%3D300x250%3Bord%3D%5Bunique-string%5D%3F&ismap="> <IMG SRC="http://ad.doubleclick.net/ad/N5621.websitemagazine.com/B3286961.2;abr=!ie4;abr=!ie5;sz=300x250;ord=[unique-string]?" BORDER=0 WIDTH=300 HEIGHT=250 ALT="Click Here"></A> </NOSCRIPT> Advertisement Paid Search Beats SEO Conversion Rates? ShareThis In a statement that will surely have SEO's up in virtual arms, WebSideStory, a provider of digital marketing and analytics solutions, today announced the results of a  study that shows paid search has a nine percent edge in conversion rates over organic search. I can hear the furious typing of a million outraged SEO bloggers at this very minute. Via the news release, "In a study of leading business-to-consumer (B2C) e-commerce sites during the first eight months of this year, paid search -- keywords bought on a pay-per-click basis at search engines such as Google, Yahoo and MSN -- had a median order conversion rate of 3.40 percent at business-to-consumer e-commerce sites using the company's award-winning HBX Analytics technology. This compared to a conversion rate of 3.13 percent for organic search results, defined as non-paid or natural search engine listings, during the same January-to-August timeframe, according to the WebSideStory Index, a compilation of e-commerce, site search and global Internet user trends. The study analyzed more than 57 million search engine visits. Order conversions occurred during the same session. "For both paid and organic search, you have highly qualified traffic that converts far above the overall conversion rate of about 2 percent for most e-commerce sites," said Ali Behnam, Senior Digital Marketing Consultant for WebSideStory. "In the case of paid search, marketers have better control over the environment, including the message, the landing page and the ability to eliminate low-converting keywords."
Dale Webb

Engaging Online Video Viewers - eMarketer - 0 views

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    Marketing to a reluctant audience - Online video viewership has never been higher, and marketers are eager to reach such a large audience. But many viewers dislike or distrust video advertising-even though they freely accept television commercials.
Dale Webb

Inside AdWords: Announcing Product Listing Ads - 0 views

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    Google is starting to roll this out - automatic CPC ads based on Merchant Account feed. Seems like only a matter of time until youll have to pay to get any exposure in this medium, as more and more advertisers pay for ads and push non-paid further down.
Rob Laporte

Average Conversion Rate for Paid Search | SHERPA - 0 views

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    "about 1/4 of all accounts have less than 1% conversion rates the top 25% of accounts have twice that - 5.31% - or greater the top 10% of AdWords advertisers have account conversion rates of 11.45%"
Rob Laporte

SEOmoz | I Don't Buy Links - 0 views

  • How Google Can Discover Paid Links A while back I did a post called 15 Methods for Paid Link Detection. Here is a list of the methods I discussed in that post: Links Labeled as Advertisements Site Wides Links Are Sold By a Link Agency Selling Site Has Information on How to Buy a Text Link Ad Relevance of Your Link Relevance of Nearby Links Advertising Location Type Someone Reports Your Site for Buying Links Someone Reports Your Site for Some Other Reason Someone Reports the Site you Bought Links from for Selling Links Someone Reports the Site you Bought Links from for Some Other Reason Disgruntled Employee Leaves Your Company, and Reports Your Site Disgruntled Employee Leaves the Agency Your Used, and Reports Your Site Disgruntled Employee Leaves the Company of the Site You Bought Links from, and Reports Your Site Internal Human Review There are two major methods I want to emphasize here. These are: 1. Your competitor can report you. It's the grim truth that your paid links can be reported by your competitor. There is a form built right into Google Webmaster Tools. Here is what it looks like:
Rob Laporte

Selling text links ads thorugh TLA or DLA result in Google penalty? - 0 views

  • Can selling text link ads in the sidebar using TLA or Direct-Link-Ads result in a Googlge penalty? I use to use TLA before for one of my sites but stopped using them for the fear of Google dropping the sit because i heard a few rumors on webmaster forums of this happening. Is this concrete or not? Are people still using TLA or DLA or some other similar? C7Mike#:3930956 4:52 am on June 11, 2009 (utc 0) Yes, you may receive a penalty for purchasing links that pass PageRank. See Google's Webmasters/Site owner Help topic for more information: [google.com...] Automotive site#:3930991 6:42 am on June 11, 2009 (utc 0) Well, I was actually going to use one of thoose to sell and not purchase. Anyway, I am going to apply to BuyandSellAds and see if I get accepted there, but I heard they mostly accept tech related sites. C7Mike#:3931237 2:25 pm on June 11, 2009 (utc 0) You may receive a penalty for both buying and selling paid links that pass PageRank (see [google.com...] I have had a few sites lose their PR because they published links through TLA. However the content was still good enough that advertisers have continued to purchase links on those pages through TLA inspite of the lack of PR, and at a substantially lower rate.
Rob Laporte

How to outdo the PPC robots in shopping ads - Search Engine Land - 0 views

  • Automation driven by improvements in artificial intelligence and machine learning will bring significant changes to how we manage pay-per-click (PPC) in 2018 and beyond.
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    "Over time, as advertisers have gotten more advanced with their shopping campaign structures and Google has gotten better at matching products to relevant queries, a more frequent issue we see is that the query is relevant to several products in a feed, but the ad serving system doesn't pick the best one to show in the ad."
Rob Laporte

Google Shares Mobile Search Volumes - Search Engine Watch Forums - 0 views

  • 1 Week Ago AccuraCast vbmenu_register("postmenu_141249", true); This is just a forum. Opinions expressed here are not official!   Join Date: Oct 2004 Location: London, UK Posts: 115 Google Shares Mobile Search Volumes After more than 2 years filled with numerous requests for more stats on mobile search volumes and click estimates, Google has finally shared this data via a rather inconspicuous feature on their new Keywords Tool. Google shares mobile search volumes - accuracast.com/search-daily-news/accuracast-7471/google-shares-mobile-search-volumes-for-the-first-time/ This is really BIG for all mobile advertisers! Finally we can put a number and a value to mobile search advertising, and make a stronger business case to prospective clients.
Rob Laporte

Google and Mastercard Cut a Secret Ad Deal to Track Retail Sales - Bloomberg - 0 views

  • It works like this: a person searches for "red lipstick" on Google, clicks on an ad, surfs the web but doesn’t buy anything. Later, she walks into a store and buys red lipstick with her Mastercard. The advertiser who ran the ad is fed a report from Google, listing the sale along with other transactions in a column that reads "Offline Revenue" -- only if the web surfer is logged into a Google account online and made the purchase within 30 days of clicking the ad. The advertisers are given a bulk report with the percentage of shoppers who clicked or viewed an ad then made a relevant purchase.
Rob Laporte

Google introduces Smart Campaigns for small businesses - the first new solution to laun... - 0 views

  • The campaigns are almost entirely automated, from ad creatives to delivery optimization, based on the product or service being advertised and the goal the advertiser sets.
  • Smart Campaigns are built on AdWords Express technology, and Spalding says the company will continue to develop on it.
  • Smart Campaign ads can be delivered across Google’s properties, and users do not have the ability to turn off channels
  • ...2 more annotations...
  • Smart Campaigns are three times more effective at reaching a business’s target audiences than AdWords Express campaigns
  • The product is new and we are always experimenting with different approaches. As more small businesses use Smart Campaigns, we will take their feedback and continue to evolve the product
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    "announced"
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