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Alex Street

US subscription TV posts another quarterly subscriber loss - 0 views

  • able operators in contrast have continued to churn record numbers of basic subs having lost 700,000 subscribers in Q3 and 760,780 in Q
  • e companies have been losing half a million subscriber
  • During the same period, cable operators kept moving their existing analog customers to high-ARPU digital packages at healthy rate
  • ...13 more annotations...
  • PTV and satellite sectors compensated for churned cable subscribers (and more) by netting over 770,000 new subscribers per quarter
  • the total number of TV subscriptions grew by almost two million subscribers since Q3 2008, and the growth in digital cable subscriptions increased the sector's video ARPU by a healthy 7 per cent.
  • y did subscription TV households shrink since 1 April, 2010
  • churn contagion has reached the digital side
  • digital growth seems to be slowing down for most other cable operators as well
  • They collectively added 380,000 digital subs in Q3 2010, down from 636,000 in Q2 and 860,000 in Q1
  • reduced digital subscriber growth rates in the near future or even net losses.
  • ge (in basic or digital subscriptions alike) has been blamed on macroeconomic weakness.
  • Providers insist that they have not seen evidence of 'cord-cutting'
  • ite' TV packages, like the one being launched by TWC, are meant to counter the adverse impact of the economy by making subscription TV affordable
  • confirmed that these losses have been caused, not by higher than usual gross churn rates, but by historically low demand for new connections.
  • ative of 'cord-abstinence' whereby younger, more tech-savvy households forgo subscription T
  • h the long-term decline in cable continuing. A
  •  
    long-term decline in cable continuing
Alex Street

Sky Italia back to subscriber growth | Broadband TV News - 0 views

  • cribed churn of 13% as “considerably be
  •  
    cribed churn of 13% as "con
David Astle

Social Games: What is the core team needed to develop a social game? - Quora - 0 views

  • You're aiming for 0.5M MAU, lets assume a good ARPU of $0.40 given monthly revenues of $200,000.
  • f your game has a good viral ratio of 0.5, that is, each person invites 0.5 other people, then we can model the equation as 1 / (1 - 0.5) = 2. So for every person we buy, we get 2 kicked out (2 for the price of 1). So, to hit 0.5M MAUs we need to buy approx. 0.5M / 2 = 250,000 users. 
  • Our cost to acquire a customer (CAC) is probably going to be around $0.50, so the cost to acquire those 250,000 users is $125,000. 
  • ...1 more annotation...
  • Taking into account the cost of hosting, and the cost of processing the payments then we can safely round up the monthly "cost of sales" to $140,000 on monthly revenue of $200,000.
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