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Google Analytics Upgrade: AdSense Reporting, Visualization Tools, & More - 0 views

  • Online publishers may be most interested in the AdSense integration tools coming to Google Analytics. After linking an AdSense and Analytics account, you’ll be able to see AdSense data including: total revenue, impressions, clicks, and click-through ratio revenue per day, per hour, etc. revenue per page (what pages are most profitable) revenue per referral (what other sites bring you profitable traffic) Here are a couple screenshots from Google’s videos on the new features (see below for link): During our call this morning, we asked why AdSense itself doesn’t also offer this data without requiring the need for also using Google Analytics to get it. We’re waiting for a reply from Google’s AdSense team and will let you know what we learn. Update: A Google spokesperson says, “We can’t comment on any future AdSense developments or features.” Motion Charts is a visualization tool lets you see and interact with analytics data in five dimensions, a capability made possible by Google’s purchase of Gapminder’s Trendalyzer software in March, 2007. The Google Analytics API, which is currently in private beta, will open up analytics data for developers to export and use however they want. Advanced segmentation allows users to dig deeper into subsets of traffic, such as “visits with conversions,” or create their own segment types. Custom reporting lets users create their own comparisons of metrics. Google has created a series of videos showing how some of these new tools work. Crosby says the new features will be rolled out in coming weeks to Google Analytics users, who may see some new features earlier than others. The AdSense integration, he warns, may take longer to roll out than the other new tools. More discussion at Techmeme.
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Internet Marketing and SEO Blog from Rank Magic - 0 views

  • Paid (PPC) Search versus SEO August 9, 2007 ::: Increasingly I read and hear about people in the Internet marketing business arguing over whether paid search (pay per click ads) is more valuable than organic SEO, and vice versa. While there are some fascinating and relevant arguments on either side, research shows that marketers are quite satisfied with both.   A report from the SEMPO State of the Market Survey from about 18 months ago shows that 83% of respondents were using PPC compared to only 11% using SEO. Other reports show that the value of SEO is rising as user sophistication increases (according to Chris Boggs in the Spring 2007 edition of Search Marketing Standard). Marketing Sherpa's 2005 report showed SEO conversion rates overtook PPC rates at 4.2% versus 3.6%. That's quite the opposite of what had been found the year before.   The Direct Marketing Association reported in 2005 on a list of "online marketing strategies that produce the best ROI that PPC and SEO were rated equally according to US retailers, behind only "having a website" and "using email marketing". A more recent study by Marketing Sherpa, though, showed SEO ahead of email marketing, with PPC a close third.   One thing seems to be true: if a given web site shows up in both the organic search engine listings and the PPC ads, that seems to super-validate it as a good choice, which increases the likelihood of a searcher clicking on one of those listings.
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Core Web Vitals report - Search Console Help - 0 views

  • You can find recommendations on fixing these issues by running the PageSpeed Insights test on an affected URL.
  • We recommend fixing everything labeled "Poor" first, then prioritize your work either by issues that affect the most URLs, or by issues that affect your most important URLs.
  • Report data sources The data for the Core Web Vitals report comes from the CrUX report. The CrUX report gathers anonymized metrics about performance times from actual users visiting your URL (called field data). The CrUX database gathers information about URLs whether or not the URL is part of a Search Console property.
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    "You can find recommendations on fixing these issues by running the PageSpeed Insights test on an affected URL."
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More Google Search bugs: Top stories indexing snag, coverage report delays - 0 views

  • Coverage report delays. On top of that issue, Google still has an ongoing issue with the Google Search Console coverage report. The coverage report is now about two-weeks delayed. I see data as early as August 31, 2020, while some see data as of September 1. Normally this report is about two or three days behind, not 14 days.
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Google reenables the validate fix feature in Search Console and adds new classifications - 0 views

  • Google reenables the validate fix feature in Search Console and adds new classifications
  • Google said the URLs or items in the Search Console report are no longer grouped at the top level by three or more status categories, i.e. Valid, Warning, and Error. Now they are grouped or classified into two more broad statuses that reflect whether those URLs or items are invalid or not. Google said invalid means that there is a report-specific critical issue in the page or item, and not invalid means that the item might still contain warnings, but has no critical issues. The implications and exact terms for the valid and invalid states varies by report type, Google added.
  • Google explained “grouping the top-level item (a rich result for the rich result reports, a page or URL for the other reports) into two groups: pages or items with critical issues are labeled something like invalid; pages or items without critical issues are labeled something like valid. We think this new grouping will make it easier to see quickly which issues affect your site’s appearance on Google, in order to help you prioritize your fixes.”
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  • This should make it easier for you to understand errors in Search Console reports and thus which items to prioritize over others
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Google Webmaster Tools is Incorrectly Displaying Keyword Positions - 0 views

  • October 20, 2008 Google Webmaster Tools is Incorrectly Displaying Keyword Positions A WebmasterWorld member reports that he was dependent on the Top Search Queries report in Google Webmaster Tools and has found it to be providing incorrect data. After all, using another rank checker proved to see no results and there were no visitors to that page. This is likely to be a bug, according to Tedster: Webmaster Tools reports of all kinds are known to contain wrong information at times. This kind of wrong information would be particularly distrubing, but in any big system errors do creep in. The evidence of your own server logs is more dependable. He adds that it's possible that the ranking is achievable: [M]aybe the WMT report is pulling the position information before some filter is applied to come up with the final rankings. Even though that would certainly be buggy behavior, it might accidentally be showing you that your url COULD rank that well, if only you weren't tripping some kind of filter. Still, though, the tool in Google's backend is misleading. Would you consider this a bug? On a related note, The Official Google Webmaster Central Blog says that this could be an issue with the kind of data that WMT sees. They suggest that you add the www and non-www versions of the same site to Webmaster Central, do a site: search to look for any anomalies, set your preferred domain, and set a site-wide 301 redirect to www or the non-www. Of course, this is probably not applicable to the reporting issue in WebmasterWorld, though it may be related to other issues within Google Webmaster Tools. Forum discussion continues at WebmasterWorld.
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Two Ways To Justify SEO In Uncertain Times - 0 views

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    Oct 22, 2008 at 10:55am Eastern by Paul Bruemmer Two Ways To Justify SEO In Uncertain Times In House - A Column From Search Engine Land During uncertain economic times like these, our advice is to always stick with the fundamentals to maintain business efficiency and progress. No matter what your business model, performing the fundamentals will keep you on-track and in-line for leveraging future success. If the C-level executives in your company are having any doubts about the value of SEO and are hesitating to release more funding, it's time to perform a cost-benefit exercise. It's your job as an in-house SEO manager to reestablish their confidence in the value of SEO as well as your value and the value of your team. When funding gets in the way, having a narrow focus, putting it on the table, and describing company goals you are committed to are all very important. 1) Leverage Your Paid Search Data To demonstrate implicit value for SEO, start with a baseline. Show where your key terms currently rank in organic and multiply by the cost-per-click value. Run the numbers for the value of direct clicks with high search intent. One way to go about this is to calculate an Effective Cost-Per-Click (eCPC) for your organic listings: 1. Access the Keyword Tool within your Google AdWords account. 2. Type your best performing (for instance, 20) keywords. 3. Select descriptive words or phrases and synonyms. 4. Click Get Keyword Ideas. This will produce a report; select Exact within the "Match Type" field and click on Approx Avg Search Volume. 1. Look at the Cost-Per-Click column to acquire the CPC value (let's assume it's $2.00). 2. Go to your web analytics data and identify the number of organic clicks for these keywords (let's assume 20,000/month). 3. Multiply the two (CPC times the number of organic clicks (in this case $40,000/mo)). 4. Create a spreadsheet with your best performing keywords and make the statement, "if we
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Search Analytics Report - Search Console Help - 0 views

  • Aggregating data by site vs by page If you group, filter, or compare by page or search appearance, all metrics in the report are aggregated by page; otherwise, all metrics are aggregated by site. For impressions, if a site appears twice on a search results page when aggregating by site, it counts as a single impression; if grouping by page or search appearance, each unique page is counted separately. For clicks, if a site appears twice in search results when grouped by site, and the user clicks on one link, backs up, then clicks the other link, it counts as a single click, since the final destination is the same site. For position, when aggregating by site, the topmost position of your property in search results is reported; when grouped by page or search appearance, the topmost position of the page in search results is reported. When aggregating data by site, the site is the true target of the search results link, which might not be the same as the displayed URL, as determined by Google's skip redirect behavior.  Because of the different accounting methods, the click-through rate and average position are higher when aggregating by site if multiple pages from the same site appear in the search results. For example, imagine that search results for "fun pets for children" returns only the following three results, all from the same site, and that users click each of them with equal frequency: Google Search Results Metrics Aggregated by Site Metrics Aggregated by Page www.petstore.example.com/monkeys www.petstore.example.com/ponies www.petstore.example.com/unicorns Click-through rate: 100% All clicks for a site are combined Click-through rate: 33% 3 pages shown, 1/3 of clicks to each page Average position: 1 Highest position from the site in the results Average position: 2 (1 + 2 + 3) / 3 = 2
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The Real Impact of Mobile-First Indexing & The Importance of Fraggles - Moz - 0 views

  • We have also recently discovered that Google has begun to index URLs with a # jump-link, after years of not doing so, and is reporting on them separately from the primary URL in Search Console. As you can see below from our data, they aren't getting a lot of clicks, but they are getting impressions. This is likely because of the low average position. 
  • Start to think of GMB as a social network or newsletter — any assets that are shared on Facebook or Twitter can also be shared on Google Posts, or at least uploaded to the GMB account.
  • You should also investigate the current Knowledge Graph entries that are related to your industry, and work to become associated with recognized companies or entities in that industry. This could be from links or citations on the entity websites, but it can also include being linked by third-party lists that give industry-specific advice and recommendations, such as being listed among the top competitors in your industry ("Best Plumbers in Denver," "Best Shoe Deals on the Web," or "Top 15 Best Reality TV Shows"). Links from these posts also help but are not required — especially if you can get your company name on enough lists with the other top players. Verify that any links or citations from authoritative third-party sites like Wikipedia, Better Business Bureau, industry directories, and lists are all pointing to live, active, relevant pages on the site, and not going through a 301 redirect. While this is just speculation and not a proven SEO strategy, you might also want to make sure that your domain is correctly classified in Google’s records by checking the industries that it is associated with. You can do so in Google’s MarketFinder tool. Make updates or recommend new categories as necessary. Then, look into the filters and relationships that are given as part of Knowledge Graph entries and make sure you are using the topic and filter words as keywords on your site.
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  • The biggest problem for SEOs is the missing organic traffic, but it is also the fact that current methods of tracking organic results generally don’t show whether things like Knowledge Graph, Featured Snippets, PAA, Found on the Web, or other types of results are appearing at the top of the query or somewhere above your organic result. Position one in organic results is not what it used to be, nor is anything below it, so you can’t expect those rankings to drive the same traffic. If Google is going to be lifting and representing everyone’s content, the traffic will never arrive at the site and SEOs won’t know if their efforts are still returning the same monetary value. This problem is especially poignant for publishers, who have only been able to sell advertising on their websites based on the expected traffic that the website could drive. The other thing to remember is that results differ — especially on mobile, which varies from device to device (generally based on screen size) but also can vary based on the phone IOS. They can also change significantly based on the location or the language settings of the phone, and they definitely do not always match with desktop results for the same query. Most SEO’s don't know much about the reality of their mobile search results because most SEO reporting tools still focus heavily on desktop results, even though Google has switched to Mobile-First.  As well, SEO tools generally only report on rankings from one location — the location of their servers — rather than being able to test from different locations. 
  • The only thing that good SEO’s can do to address this problem is to use tools like the MobileMoxie SERP Test to check what rankings look like on top keywords from all the locations where their users may be searching. While the free tool only provides results with one location at a time, subscribers can test search results in multiple locations, based on a service-area radius or based on an uploaded CSV of addresses. The tool has integrations with Google Sheets, and a connector with Data Studio, to help with SEO reporting, but APIs are also available, for deeper integrations in content editing tools, dashboards and for use within other SEO tools.
  • Fraggles and Fraggled indexing re-frames the switch to Mobile-First Indexing, which means that SEOs and SEO tool companies need to start thinking mobile-first — i.e. the portability of their information. While it is likely that pages and domains still carry strong ranking signals, the changes in the SERP all seem to focus less on entire pages, and more on pieces of pages, similar to the ones surfaced in Featured Snippets, PAAs, and some Related Searches. If Google focuses more on windowing content and being an "answer engine" instead of a "search engine," then this fits well with their stated identity, and their desire to build a more efficient, sustainable, international engine.
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Core Web Vitals report replaces Speed report in Google Search Console: What you need to... - 0 views

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    "new help document"
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How to make better SEO reports for the C-suite - 0 views

  • This is perhaps the most crucial element when sending an SEO report to your CMO. Reports that fail to emphasize SEO’s influence on revenue can make the C-suite think the channel is unproductive.
  • Initialism: CWV, CSS, JS, API, GA4, XML, CTR, CMS, CPC, DA, LSI.
  • Corporate fluff: Circle back, touch base, agile working, low-hanging fruit, caveats, bandwidth, cascade to the wider business, take things on board, utilize all the tools in the box, results-driven, reinvent the wheel, etc.
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  • Focus on creating a documented strategy closely aligned with the overall business strategy.
  • Relationships and training
  • "...[L]ack of 'what to do next'"' actions (with a why)
  • and the losses
  • Why it matters.
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Yahoo Launches Web Analytics - 0 views

  • Oct 8, 2008 at 5:55pm Eastern by Matt McGee    Yahoo Launches Web Analytics Yahoo has announced that they’ll begin to roll out Yahoo Web Analytics (beta) on a limited basis beginning this week. According to Jitendra Kavathekar, Yahoo’s Web Analytics VP, the service has already been made available to select Yahoo advertisers and third-party application developers. The next “big deployment,” Kavathekar says, will be for Yahoo’s 13,000 e-commerce customers hosting under the Yahoo Small Business service. Beyond that, Yahoo Web Analytics will continue to roll out for the rest of this year and into 2009. Yahoo’s analytics service is a result of the company’s purchase of IndexTools earlier this year. Shortly after the purchase, Yahoo’s Dennis Mortensen announced the company’s plans to make Yahoo Web Analytics free. In its FAQ about the new analytics service, Yahoo suggests three reasons why its product is better than the competition: Real-time Data: “While some analytics products provide data 24-48 hours after collection, Yahoo! Web Analytics reflects data within minutes of collection.” Raw Data: “While some products store aggregated data, which restricts the usefulness of the data to pre-created or canned reports, Yahoo! Web Analytics stores data in non-aggregated raw form.” Ease-of-Use and Flexibility Yahoo offers a sign-up form for future updates on the Yahoo Web Analytics (beta) home page. Update: Yahoo’s Dennis Mortensen explains more and shares screenshots in a new post on VisualRevenue.
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    Oct 8, 2008 at 5:55pm Eastern by Matt McGee Yahoo Launches Web Analytics Yahoo has announced that they'll begin to roll out Yahoo Web Analytics (beta) on a limited basis beginning this week. According to Jitendra Kavathekar, Yahoo's Web Analytics VP, the service has already been made available to select Yahoo advertisers and third-party application developers. The next "big deployment," Kavathekar says, will be for Yahoo's 13,000 e-commerce customers hosting under the Yahoo Small Business service. Beyond that, Yahoo Web Analytics will continue to roll out for the rest of this year and into 2009. Yahoo's analytics service is a result of the company's purchase of IndexTools earlier this year. Shortly after the purchase, Yahoo's Dennis Mortensen announced the company's plans to make Yahoo Web Analytics free. In its FAQ about the new analytics service, Yahoo suggests three reasons why its product is better than the competition: 1. Real-time Data: "While some analytics products provide data 24-48 hours after collection, Yahoo! Web Analytics reflects data within minutes of collection." 2. Raw Data: "While some products store aggregated data, which restricts the usefulness of the data to pre-created or canned reports, Yahoo! Web Analytics stores data in non-aggregated raw form." 3. Ease-of-Use and Flexibility Yahoo offers a sign-up form for future updates on the Yahoo Web Analytics (beta) home page. Update: Yahoo's Dennis Mortensen explains more and shares screenshots in a new post on VisualRevenue.
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Search Force SEM Platform Now Supports Image Ads - MarketingVOX - 0 views

  • Search Force SEM Platform Now Supports Image Ads SearchForce, a company whose platform consolidates bid optimization, campaign management and reporting, has incorporated support for content-rich image ads. The company claims it is the first search engine marketing and bid optimization firm to do so. Users can now decide the specific placement of image ads within Google's AdWords network. They can also optimize bids, track conversions and view reporting on them. According to SearchForce, image ads remain lamentably little-used because of lack of visibility, awareness about location of placement, and the inability to clearly associate ROI to spend. Apart from the support of image ads, its platform also enables users to segment keywords by performance and automate multiple programs. In May, the company launched a new profit algorithm that enables clients to quickly adjust bids based on quality, seasonality and day of the week patterns. A recent Hitwise report found that, while marketing dollars are increasingly moving online, search advertising has taken a blow as a result of the recession.
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AdWords Bid Management: Advanced Tactics - 0 views

  • Tracking conversion value as expected customer value For many AdWords advertisers, simply tracking conversions is an “advanced” tactic. High-performing marketers go a step further and also use AdWords conversion tracker to dynamically track the value associated with each conversion. With a simple modification to the conversion tracking script (and a tiny bit of custom programming), you can track the monetary value associated with each conversion. If one conversion brings in $30 while another brings in $50, both values will be recorded with their respective keyword in the AdWords reports (Google doesn’t currently allow you to see conversion value in the normal interface. The “total value” and “value / cost” stats are only available through reports in your AdWords Report Center.).
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The value of a consumer's time online? 43 cents a minute - Direct Marketing News - 0 views

  • According to Atkinson, three to four minutes is the “sweet spot” time needed to keep customers engaged without overwhelming them with too many pages and products. SumAll reported that 169 seconds was the average amount of time spent per site visit this year and that 1.54 minutes was the amount of time consumers needed to spend in order for e-tailers to make a buck.
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    According to Atkinson, three to four minutes is the "sweet spot" time needed to keep customers engaged without overwhelming them with too many pages and products. SumAll reported that 169 seconds was the average amount of time spent per site visit this year and that 1.54 minutes was the amount of time consumers needed to spend in order for e-tailers to make a buck.
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Tracking Your Data Studio Dashboards in Google Analytics - ClickInsight - 0 views

  • Just as you would use analytics to optimize your webpages, you can do the same for your reports and dashboards. In fact, Data Studio has a built-in capability for tracking report usage in Google Analytics.
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Google Search Console overcounted mobile page experience data since June 29th - 0 views

  • For the last four months, Google has been miscounting the mobile page experience data in the Google Search Console reports. This impacted both the performance report and the page experience report in Google Search Console. The issue persisted from June 29th through November 1st
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