Skip to main content

Home/ European Union/ Group items matching "publicopinion" in title, tags, annotations or url

Group items matching
in title, tags, annotations or url

Sort By: Relevance | Date Filter: All | Bookmarks | Topics Simple Middle
Prof. Dr  Wolfgang Schumann

19.06.07: Support for the EU among citizens on highest level since early 1990s - 0 views

  • Support for the EU among the bloc's citizens has risen to the highest level since early 1990s with two thirds favouring the concept of a European constitution, but a state-like EU charter is opposed most strongly by Brits, Danes and Swedes.
  • Fifty nine percent of respondents said they consider EU membership as beneficial for their country - the highest percentage since 1991, while overall support for the union stands at 57 percent, at its highest since 1994.
Prof. Dr  Wolfgang Schumann

18.06.07: Survey: EU public in 5 big EU states wants referendum on new constitution/treaty - 0 views

  • An opinion survey in five big EU states show most people want referendums on the new EU treaty in opposition to the current trend to agree a document that will be put only to national parliaments for ratification. According to an FT/Harris Poll published on Monday (18 June), 75 percent of Spaniards, 71 percent of Germans, 69 percent of Britons, 68 percent of Italians and 64 percent of French people consider the post-constitution treaty important enough to warrant a referendum
Prof. Dr  Wolfgang Schumann

19.12.07: Eurobarometer poll: Citizens lose trust in EU institutions, support membership - 0 views

  • European institutions suffered a big loss of trust among EU citizens in the last six months, despite citizens' support for EU membership reaching the highest in over a decade, according to a Eurobarometer poll published on Tuesday.  
  • Links European Union Commission: Press Release: Standard Eurobarometer 68: Autumn 2007 (18 December 2007) Surveys and data Commission: Eurobarometer 68 (December 2007)
Prof. Dr  Wolfgang Schumann

11.05.07: Citizens more ambitious than leaders on future EU policies - 0 views

  • EU citizens are more ambitious about what Europe should do in the future than its political leaders, a new report summing up a series of popular debates shows.
  • The report, published on Thursday (10 May), refers to the main conclusions of all national debates and shows that citizens in most countries favour action in social policy where Europe does not hold key powers and which is generally not foreseen as an area for major future initiatives.
Prof. Dr  Wolfgang Schumann

25.01.07: Chance for a Real Debate on the EU's Constitution? - Comment on the Madrid meeting - 0 views

  • Writer and commentator on European affairs Kirsty Hughes and Jose Ignacio Torreblanca, senior analyst at the Elcano Institute in Madrid argue in this article, that the EU should move on following the institutional impasse and regain political confidence.
Prof. Dr  Wolfgang Schumann

21.03.07: Why is Brussels so unloved? - 0 views

  • And today, surveys continue to show a lack of enthusiasm. A Financial Times poll of the five biggest EU states published on Monday (19 March) show that just 25 percent of those asked feel that life in their country had improved since it joined the EU, while 44 percent feel it has become worse.
Prof. Dr  Wolfgang Schumann

21.12.2006 Bulgarians join the EU with marxism on their minds - 0 views

  • When Bulgaria joins the EU on January 1, it will have completed almost two decades of painful transition from Soviet-style totalitarianism to western-style democracy. After an elaborate project to adapt the country to Europe's political and economic environment, most people believe Bulgaria has developed a liberal democracy. But while the country looks superficially as if it has thrown off the legacy of its old communist elite, socialist views and behavioral patterns remain deeply entrenched.
Prof. Dr  Wolfgang Schumann

18.12.2006: Eurobarometer 66 shows strongly varying attitudes towards important issues - 1 views

  •  
    The survey, conducted for the European Commission, for the first time quizzed Europeans about some key societal issues which are closely related to national histories and cultures. Europeans for example strongly disagree about homosexuality, drugs, religion and agree on  the need for more equality and justice.
    Moreover the study surprisingly shows that citizens in France and the Netherlands, who last year rejected the constitution, now support it!
Prof. Dr  Wolfgang Schumann

15.12.2006: EU "consensus" over enlargement highly fragile - 0 views

  • The new "consensus" on enlargement agreed by EU leaders constitutes a delicate compromise between pro-enlargement member states and those weary of further expansion, with political rifts set to re-emerge soon over Turkey and the Balkans.
Prof. Dr  Wolfgang Schumann

Eurobarometer - 0 views

  •  
    This is the website for the Public Opinion Analysis sector of the European Commission. Since 1973, the European Commission has been monitoring the evolution of public opinion in the Member States, thus helping the preparation of texts, decision-making a
Prof. Dr  Wolfgang Schumann

Politeia: Network for Citizenship and Democracy in Europe - 0 views

  •  
    The goals of POLITEIA are as follows: Creation of a structure that will set civic participation and education higher on the European and national agenda. Strengthening the capacities of the partner organisations by exchanging methods and practices. Being more present and visible in the European NGO-scene by focusing on the promotion of European citizenship through participation. Creating a pool of potential partners for European projects as well as being able to profit from European funds.
Prof. Dr  Wolfgang Schumann

01.10.2006: How can the EU communicate better? - 0 views

  •  
    The European Commission's consultation on its communication policy is a landmark event. No longer can the Commission be accused of being a remote, isolate bureaucracy. Its consultation was seeking opinions on how it should engage with the wider European p
Prof. Dr  Wolfgang Schumann

Moravcsik (2006) What can we learn from the collapse of the European Constitutional Project? - 0 views

  •  
    The draft European constitution sought to legitimate the EU by inducing more popular deliberation about Europe's future. This strategy was doomed to failure because it is inconsistent with basic empirical social science about how advanced democracies work. Salient political rhetoric and increased opportunities to participate do not, as a rule, generate more intensive and informed public deliberation or greater public trust, identity and legitimacy - particularly where the issues in question are not highly salient. Two conclusions follow. First, the failure of constitutional reform is, paradoxically, evidence of the success and stability of the existing "European constitutional settlement." The rhetoric of federalism has not changed to reflect this new reality. Second, prescriptive analysis of real-world constitutional reform requires that normative theorists draw more heavily on empirical social science in order to ascertain to what extent institutions actually have the consequences ideally ascribed too them.
Prof. Dr  Wolfgang Schumann

White Paper on a European Communication Policy - 0 views

  •  
    The White Paper is a call for action on how we can close the gap between the EU and its citizens. Communication on Europe is a matter of democracy. The White Paper proposes five areas where joint action should be taken: defining common principles to gui
Prof. Dr  Wolfgang Schumann

Kaina/Karolewski (2009): EU governance and European identiy, Living Reviews in European Governance, Vol. 4, No. 2 - 0 views

  • This Living Review presents an overview of the research on European identity in the context of EU governance by focussing on central debates in the political science literature. It departs from the problems of disagreement between European citizens and their elites as well as the lack of a European demos. Against this background, the article discusses the functions of collective identity including the legitimation function and solution of collective dilemmas. Here, two perspectives pertaining to these functions are depicted: first, the issue of European public space and second, the integrative workings of European citizenship. Next, the article explores the conceptual and methodological problems of the research on European collective identity. In particular, it focuses on the conceptual ambiguity of the collective identity term and problems of operationalization and measurement. Following this, the article discusses the literature on identity technologies of the EU and identifies the shortcomings of identity technologies with regard to EU governance. Keywords:European identity, governance, legitimacy, democracy, public opinion, European public space
Prof. Dr  Wolfgang Schumann

Tamvaki (2008): Legitimacy and EU Enlargement Politics - 0 views

  • In the aftermath of the most ambitious accession bargain, attention has been directed away from EU negotiations to the tricky task of selling the elite enlargement deal to the voters. Focusing on past enlargement rounds, this book explores the link between diverse elite motives for pursuing membership and relatively constant variation in EU public support. National elite attitudes to integration contain the clues to the explanation of why utilitarian and affective support has traditionally been higher in some countries than in others. EU public opinion does not simply reflect the economic interests and identities of individuals faced with an objective reality. Rather, citizens face an endogenously shaped world, filtered by elite opinions on membership. Drawing upon "flexibility," this book advances a model of "theoretical differentiation" distinguishing between rationally and affectively driven entrants. Empirically, the tenacity of "differentiation" in EU legitimacy is examined through the use of original and secondary data. Combining qualitative and quantitative methods, this study aspires to further debate on enlargement and public opinion engaging scholars and EU practitioners.
Prof. Dr  Wolfgang Schumann

Lubbers/Jaspers (2011): A longitudinal study of euroscepticism in the Netherlands: 2008 versus 1990 - 1 views

  • With a unique longitudinal data set covering a time-span of 18 years, we test to what extent euroscepticism evolved among the Dutch between 1990 and 2008. We compare Eurosceptic attitudes on the eve of the signing of the Treaty of Maastricht with attitudes after the Dutch ‘no’ in the referendum on the European Constitution. We find a strong increase in euroscepticism among the Dutch. This change did not develop evenly across the educational strata. We propose to explain these differences through the utilitarian, political cueing, political cynicism and identity approaches. Over the years, the less educated have become more cynical about politics and have come to perceive a greater ethnic threat than before, which explains their stronger increase in euroscepticism. In contrast to 1990, perceived ethnic threat was the main predictor of euroscepticism in 2008.
‹ Previous 21 - 38 of 38
Showing 20 items per page